RuneScape talk:Wiki Post/Editorials/Quest Review - Elemental Workshop III

From the RuneScape Wiki, the wiki for all things RuneScape
Jump to: navigation, search
This talk page is for discussing the RuneScape:Wiki Post/Editorials/Quest Review - Elemental Workshop III page.

A 3D sliding puzzle that players have to complete three times? (It's rated 2/5 on difficulty, by the way.) Nah. Let's make sure that every time someone wants to make another body bar, he/she has to do the ENTIRE PUZZLE AGAIN. I'm one of the biggest Jagex fanboys out there, and even I'm frothing at the mouth on this one. The Pandorica will open. 18:49, May 26, 2010 (UTC)

Same, brah. When Jagex did the Wilderness changes, I stuck by them through thick and thin, and never lowered myself to ranting. I consider myself a protectorate of Jagex, and I fight fiercely against haters whenever I can. Do I feel betrayed with the release of this quest? No. Do I feel very, very angry? Oh my yes.18:52, May 26, 2010 (UTC)
The only other quest I have yet to complete is Nomad's Requiem. That should tell you something about how badly they screwed up. The Pandorica will open. 18:55, May 26, 2010 (UTC)
Not to plug my own series, but if you want a mildly humorous review of Nomad's Requiem, check out my YouTube Review of it! ;D19:00, May 26, 2010 (UTC)

Well, just because you don't like sliding puzzles doesn't mean the quest is a failure. In fact, that is the ONLY reason you give in this editorial about why the quest itself is too difficult. First: it is very easy to do if you look at a guide, and I didn't even need to by the end (mostly because that part wasn't correct at the time, but I still enjoyed it). Second: unlike other quests, this one doesn't rely on chance combat situations or skill grinding at all! All you have to do is get the hang of it and spend a bit of time moving the empty square around in a loop fashion until each box is in the right place. Yes, the reward itself is terrible, but if that is why you dislike the quest, then don't just make that an afterthought after your thourough description of your hatred of all puzzles that slide. Wrathanet talk edits Guthix mjolnir.png 12:19, July 3, 2010 (UTC)

No, I don't think that the only reason the quest is a failure is because it has sliding puzzles and I don't like them. Not at all. I think that the reason the quest is a failure is because it ONLY has sliding puzzles and I don't like them. The whole quest has no content, no closure and a smidgen of background information. I'm a fan of quests with storylines, things like the Curse of Zaros miniquest or the Myreque chain, but this quest doesn't have any of that - it doesn't have ANYTHING other than the same puzzle repeated about twelve times. I would have been fine with it if it was just one sliding puzzle; not even one puzzle - if you'd had a bit of variation, like maybe a couple of other mindgames and puzzles in it (like the ones in Quiet Before the Swarm for example), I would have had no problem with the quest. The thing that I don't like about it is that it just seemed like filler, like someone wanted to make EW3 but was then stuck as to what to do in it, so they rewrote the same puzzle several times and called it a quest. The puzzle isn't explained to you, nobody talks you through it, you're just expected to be able to do it and understand what to do in it for about two hours and then get a crap reward. That's what I don't like about the quest.17:12, July 4, 2010 (UTC)
I see what you're saying, but even so, I thoughroughly enjoyed the puzzle. Storywise, it sucked. What happened? We completed a puzzle and opened the body door... Anything else revealed? Nope. But the puzzle was well constructed and difficult... If they had added SOME kind of actual story, this quest would have been an easier version of Mournings Ends Part 2! The Mistress of Poison 18:23, July 12, 2010 (UTC)
Alright, I get that there wasn't much story, but that's the entire point of the elemental workshop series. Its about finding the remains of a lost art and the work left behind from a mysterious figure. It's like investigating a laboratory in a post-apocalyptic world. But, maybe you should have put that IN THE ARTICLE and not the talk page...

Yes the rewards were bad, yes things weren't explained, yes the puzzle was difficult, but it wasn't as terrible as you're trying to paint it. Wrathanet talk edits Guthix mjolnir.png 15:40, July 26, 2010 (UTC)

"That said, however, I did not expect the puzzle to be a Guthix-damned sliding puzzle. I hate sliding puzzles. What's more, I did not expect there to be THREE of them. One is bad enough! The one in Monkey Madness caused me to pull out my own hair and scream until my throat was hoarse and sore! This time I have to do it THREE TIMES! What in Gielinor were Jagex thinking? When was the board meeting held when Mod Ludicrous say to Mod Unnecessary "Hey you know what'd be great in the new quest? A slider puzzle. But you know what'd be even better? If players had to do the same thing thrice.""

Then you must be some kind of sliding puzzle nub, I did monkey madness 2 days ago, the puzzle took me 5 minutes, and I didn't pay for it.

For once, I don't feel guilty about using the guides here. Sliding puzzles, or just puzzles, are not bad, they are just one of many things that can be used to give the quest added flavor. I do have something of an appreciation for puzzles (especialy Quiet Before the Swarm. They did the right thing there with puzzles) but three sliding puzzles that are 3d... no. Just no. Haru

Well I'd have to disagree, just because I do like sliding puzzles. They're easy and fun. For me at least. --  http://img188.imageshack.us/img188/1254/lockkey.png  Nequillim  T C E   15:55, September 21, 2010 (UTC)

I used to hate sliding puzzles until I learned how to do them, and so the Monkey Madness one was pretty easy for me. However, this one was pure crap. I just came back from a 3-year RuneScape break, and was excited to see that a new addition had come to this series of quests! However, I realised that the only reason I was doing this quest was for the quest point(s). I'm not sure which quest I thought of as the worst before this quest was released, but now I know that this is, without a doubt, the worst pile of crap Jagex have released. I would have never figured out how to complete this quest without the use of a guide, and I still don't get how everything fits together. I hope there won't be an Elemental Workshop IV. 178.72.40.95 12:15, October 8, 2010 (UTC)