Destroy (action)

From the RuneScape Wiki, the wiki for all things RuneScape
Jump to: navigation, search
This article is about the Destroy action on items. For the ability, see Destroy.
An example of the message before destroying an item

Destroy is a right-click option on items that cannot be dropped or are non-tradeable. The destroy function is similar to the Drop option; it likewise removes the item from the inventory, but unlike drop, the item does not appear on the game screen and cannot be recovered. Because of this, a player attempting to destroy an item will always get a warning message beforehand. The message usually lists possible ways to recover the item as well as any addition fee or risk destroying poses.

Items can also be destroyed by a drag and drop action straight from the bank interface, which saves the player a withdrawal to the inventory and a right-click to destroy it. The warning sign will still appear to confirm the action.

Members-only items will always have a "Drop" option on free worlds; however, trying to drop the item will still trigger the dialogue box for destroying the item.

Update history[edit | edit source]

The update history project is a work-in-progress – not all updates to this topic may be covered below. See here for how to help out!
  • ninja 22 July 2019 (Update):
    • In addition to the existing Y and N keybinds for confirming item destruction, Ctrl+A now triggers the "All" option.
  • patch 25 January 2016 (Update):
    • When destroying items with stored state, you will no longer be given the option to destroy all.

Trivia[edit | edit source]

  • The destroy option was added to the game with the release of the quest Garden of Tranquillity.
  • Destroy-only items can sometimes be indirectly dropped via obtaining them with a full inventory.